Catalog

Harnett County Public Library

Record Details

Catalog Search



Available copies

  • 132 of 153 copies available at NC Cardinal. (Show)
  • 5 of 6 copies available at Harnett County Library System.

Current holds

4 current holds with 153 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Angier Public Library YA F Sep (Text) 33632002713023 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Boone Trail Branch YA F Sep (Text) 33630004975236 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Dunn Public Library Teen F Sep (Text) 33436001573747 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Harnett County Main Library YA F Sep (Text) 33630004616855 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Harnett County Main Library YA F Sep (Text) 33630004616913 Young Adult Fiction Available -
Harnett County Main Library YA F Sep (Text) 33630004630468 Young Adult Fiction In process -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780399160301
  • ISBN: 0399160302
  • ISBN: 9780142423622
  • ISBN: 9780141347400
  • ISBN: 0141347406
  • ISBN: 9780605929609
  • ISBN: 0605929602
  • Physical Description: 391 pages : maps ; 22 cm
  • Publisher: New York : Philomel Books, 2016.

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references (pages 384-389).
Summary, etc.:
World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people--adults and children alike--aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning 'All the Light We Cannot See,' Erik Larson's 'Dead Wake,' and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book 'Code Name Verity,' this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.
Target Audience Note:
HL560L Lexile
Study Program Information Note:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 4.5 10 179545.
Accelerated Reader AR UG 4.5 10.0 179545.
Accelerated Reader 4.5.
Accelerated Reader AR 4.5 10.0 179545.
Awards Note:
YALSA Top Ten Best Fiction for Young Adults, 2017
CILIP Carnegie Medal Winner, 2017.
Subject: Wilhelm Gustloff (Ship) > Fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 > Fiction.
Shipwreck survival > Fiction.
Survival at sea > Fiction.
Refugees > Fiction.
Genre: Historical fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Young adult fiction.

Additional Resources